Free Shipping on Everything.
60-Day Money-Back Guarantee | Lifetime Tech Support

2002 tahoe rear speakers

Car Audio, Video, & GPS

Car Audio, Video, & GPS
Talk about stereos, navigation, amps, subs, and all things car audio

2002 tahoe rear speakers

This question is answered

Hello everybody. I am new to this forum and need some advice with the speakers in a 2002 Tahoe that I just purchased. The friend that I just bought this tahoe from informed me that the rear speakers didn't sound like they were working. He replaced them when he bought the car in 2008. He had installed a set of Phoenix RSD6 speakers in the rear doors. Currently, I don't hear anything from them now and can not believe that they would quit working in less that 3 years. Before I replace them, does anyone have any suggestions on what I might need to check ----- ie ampliefier, wiring, etc. I am a true novice when it comes to audio and wiring knowledge. So any advice would be appreciated??

Thanks in advance!

Verified Answer
  • If the speakers play intermittently, I'm going to go out on a limb and say the speakers themselves are probably okay.

That leaves about three possibilities:

• Intermittent short in the wiring between the head unit and the speakers (somewhat likely).
    • Bad head unit rear channel and or dust causing intermittent bass and fader controls from the head unit. (also fairly likely).
    • Possible intermittent failure of OEM amp rear channels.

Personally, my recommendation would be to replace the HU with aftermarket and if necessary, bypass the OEM amp and run new speaker wire to the speakers, but ...

Hope This Helps!!!

Anyone else have suggestions?

2002 Ford Focus JVC KD-A815 Sony CDX-GT410u Sony XT-100HD HD Tuner Stock speakers, no amp, no subs