Free Shipping on Everything.
60-Day Money-Back Guarantee | Lifetime Tech Support

Amp suggestion for 10" Rockfort Fosgate HE2

Car Audio, Video, & GPS

Car Audio, Video, & GPS
Talk about stereos, navigation, amps, subs, and all things car audio

Amp suggestion for 10" Rockfort Fosgate HE2

• I have a single Rockfort Fosgate 10" Punch HE2 from roughly 2003.

A buddy of mine picked these up when they were new and sold me one of them recently. I'm a relative newb to car audio, and have just started to read a lot of the articles and understanding some of it. 

My understanding based on what I've read is that I can work these at either 2 or 4 ohms. 

They are rated for 800W peak and 400W RMS power and are DVC subs.  Running in a enclosed cabinet.

I'm looking for amp and wiring suggestions.  The car is an '02 Subaru WRX Sport Wagon.  Currently I'm running the regular factory speakers and just installed a DEH-P980-BT Premier Pioneer headunit.

I'm not necessarily looking for a loud sound, just looking for the clearest sound with a decent hit.  I'm not typically playing the stereo loud, but I've been a musician most of my life and I have a good ear.

Explainations would also be appreciated.  I'm trying to learn, but I'd hate to learn anything the hard way because it seems that involves melting at some point.

Thanks

Derek

• It'll be hard to pick an amp unless you can give us the Ohms of that DVC sub. They are either going to be DVC2ohms or the DVC4ohms model, but it does matter which model you have.

If you cannot tell from any of the markings on the subwoofer, you can read this thread to get an idea of how to find out using a multimeter. 

Pzaul

[edited by: pzaul at 9:57 AM (GMT -5) on Fri, May 25 2007]
    Kenwood X491, Epic 150 HO Alternator, 1/0 Gauge Big 3 Sony XM-4S, Hifonics BXi 2006D Clarion SRR1027, Infinity Reference 6022si 2 12" TC-2000's Sealed 1.0 cu per Only 140db w/music: work in progress
  • pzaul: