lens changing bags?

Cameras & Camcorders

Cameras & Camcorders
Share photo and video tips, discuss the latest gear and accessories

lens changing bags?

• I am new to Crutchfield and the forums, so here is my first posting. 

I have been using a P&S digital camera for years and I will be new to DSLR cameras (I am getting ready to purchase one from Crutchfield) and was wondering about ways of preventing or minimizing dust contamination when changing lenses, especially outdoors.

I tried a search on this topic and could not find anything in the forum about it.

Is there such a thing as a small bag into which the camera is inserted (kind of like the old developer darkroom bags used in the days of developing film) along with the lens for changing without having dust contamination? (Although changing lenses blind may not be the wise thing to do since I have never attempted it.)

Just wondering if such an accessory exists or is commonly used. I do realize that dust cleaners are built into cameras or that a photo shop could easily clean dust off the sensor or that software can be used to remove dust images from photos.

• I'm not aware of any 'dust bag'. I would suggest to turn the camera so that the lens opening is facing  downward to minimize dust. Also, if you are outside use your body as a shield against wind. 

• OK, junior77. Thanks for the advice.
  • No problem...having said that, dust is gonna get in there over time. Unless you work in a completely dust free atmosphere, or find some sort of disposable bag that is dust/lint free like you were thinking.  But like you said, there are ways to fix it, remove it...