Free Shipping on Everything.
60-Day Money-Back Guarantee | Lifetime Tech Support

Which amp for dual 12" Pioneer shallow mount subs?

Car Audio, Video, & GPS

Car Audio, Video, & GPS
Talk about stereos, navigation, amps, subs, and all things car audio

Which amp for dual 12" Pioneer shallow mount subs?

This question is answered

Im looking at purchasing two Pioneer TS-SW3001S4 shallow mount subs. They will be mounted in a 2005 Chevrolet Silverado crew-cab, using a dual downfire box under the rear seat. These subs are 4 ohm, but are also offered in a 2 ohm version (which should I go with?) I need to know what kind of amp to pair with these subs for best overall performance. Pioneer offers a class-D amp (GM-D8500M) with 300watts at 4 ohms. Would that be sufficient? I am new to the audio field, so thanks for any replies and help!

[edited by: JayRod at 11:55 PM (GMT -5) on Sun, Apr 22 2012]
Verified Answer
  • The subs are rated 400W RMS each.

Your best option would be the SVC-4-ohm versions as there are more amplifiers to choose from that are 600-1000W RMS at 2-ohms.

The SVC-2-ohm versions would pair well with a Hifonics HFi1000D or similar amp at 1-ohm.

To find an amp with that kind of power output at 4-ohms, you would be looking at a bridged 2-channel amp - which is not ideal for subwoofers.

Hope This Helps!!!

Anyone else have suggestions?

2002 Ford Focus JVC KD-A815 Sony CDX-GT410u Sony XT-100HD HD Tuner Stock speakers, no amp, no subs

All Replies
  • Which version of the sub really depends on you. The 4 ohm versions can be wired as a 2 ohm load to the amp and the 2 ohm versions can be wired as a 1 ohm or 4 ohm load to the amp. Either way, you need an amp that outputs 600-1000 watts at the impedance you end up with.

GLH Geeked

• The subs are rated 400W RMS each.

Your best option would be the SVC-4-ohm versions as there are more amplifiers to choose from that are 600-1000W RMS at 2-ohms.