Free Shipping on Everything.
60-Day Money-Back Guarantee | Lifetime Tech Support

Alpine Type S Component too quiet.

Car Audio, Video, & GPS

Car Audio, Video, & GPS
Talk about stereos, navigation, amps, subs, and all things car audio

Alpine Type S Component too quiet.

This question is answered

As a disclaimer, this is my first time working on automotive audio so i do apologize if the questions sound silly. 

I recently went ahead and replaced all four speakrs in my car with Alpines. I replaced the rear with the Alpine SPS-610 coaxials which right now sound great and i replaced the front ones with Alpine SPS-610C Components.

All of the four including tweeters are being powered by a Sony GT740UI headunit.

Now the problem that i have is that my rear Alpines sound great in either low or high volume however the front Components are too quiet and sound very distorted.

I used to have "walmart bought" sony coaxials speakers in the front which sounded louder. Also who ever had the car before me did an audio setup using pioneer crossovers. 

My question here is, do i need an amp (by doing a quick search im assuming a 2-Channel Amp for the fronts) to deliver more power to those speakers or possibly bass blockers? Listed below is a little information about the setup. 

Head Unit:

Sony GT740UI

RMS Power Output: 17 Watts

Peak Output: 52 Watts

Speakers: 

Alpine SPS-610C component (these sound distorted) 

RMS: Two 80 Watts

Peak: 240 Watts

Alpine SPS-610 coaxial (these sound great)

RMS: Two 75 Watts

Peak: 230 Watts

Any help would be great, thanks

-Syed

Verified Answer
  • Yes, your speakers are underpowered.

Hopefully, the 'audio setup using pioneer crossovers' has been removed.

Forget 'peak' output or input.

The 17 watts RMS from the Sony head would work fine with some more efficient speakers made for low power applications. Your Alpine speakers are less efficient and made for the poser from an outboard type amp.