Free Shipping on Everything.
60-Day Money-Back Guarantee | Lifetime Tech Support

What is the best way to wire 2- 4ohm dvc alpine type r's to a lanzar vibe 286 2 channel amp?

Car Audio, Video, & GPS

Car Audio, Video, & GPS
Talk about stereos, navigation, amps, subs, and all things car audio

What is the best way to wire 2- 4ohm dvc alpine type r's to a lanzar vibe 286 2 channel amp?

This question is answered

I need some professional clarification on this process. I have 2 4ohm dvc alpine type r 12's and I need to know the optimal way to hook them up to a lanzar vibe 286 amp. 

Here are the specs for my amp...

http://www.lanzar.com/manuals/VIBE226-236-246-256-266-276-286-416-426-436.pdf

These are the exact Type r's in question

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-5AZwcNirw3j/p_500SWR1242/Alpine-SWR-1242D.html <Mod Edit: Linked to Crutchfield. Please link to Crutchfield's Item Page or manufacturer's website. Thanks.>

Also, I am a complete noob, so please be extremely clear in your description please. 

Im assuming from the reading Ive done that this amp is not 1ohm stable, and that my optimal hook up would be running these subs at 2ohms. If this is correct, what is the proper method. Thanks so much in advance for the help with this. Please dont respond if you are not 100% sure of the answer. Thanks again......if you need to know any additional info from my end, please ask. Ill respond asap.

[edited by: TigerHeli at 9:18 AM (GMT -5) on Wed, May 9 2012] http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_4281_Alpine-SWR-1242D.html
Verified Answer
  • Run your subwoofers like so.....

And run your positive wire to the Left Channel (+) and the Negative Wire to your Right Channel (-) so that the amp goes into "bridge" mode. There should be a diagram under your channels (+)(-) that says "bridged" and points to exactly what terminals to connect to.

Hope this helps.....anyone else think of something better??