Mercedes wiring question

This question is not answered

I installed a Kenwood receiver in my friend's mid-80s Mercedes 190e.  At low volume the unit works fine.  When you crank the receiver up, it powers off like it has a bad ground.  All connections and ground are solid. Is there anything about a Mercedes that requires a different approach to wiring or grounding the unit.  I have been doing installations for close to 40 years and have never seen anything like this.

"Just a world that we all must share.  It's not enough just to stand and stare..."        Pink Floyd   On the Turning Away

All Replies
  • Could be a poor ground, could be a poor connection. Hell, it could be voltage drop. Any amplifier's in the mix as well? Checked/replaced fuses, both on the HU and in the car's panel? They may not be blown, but I've seen issues where the fuse was the issue.

How did you connect the wires? Crimp connectors, solder, merely twist and tape? How about voltage, have you tested to find if there is or isn't any voltage drop?

Another possibility is the Hu may be defective. Not uncommon with Kenwood. I know many have had great luck with them, but I and many I know have run into QC issues in which they just don't seem to last. Take a look around, there seems to be more refurbished Kenwood units available on the market than most brands. I myself will NEVER use a kenwood ever again, NONE of their products. and now that JVC and Kenwood have merged, JVC is on the "DO NO USE" list as well, though I wasn't too impressed with the brand before the merger.

Still, they have respectable specs on paper and look to offer a lot for the money. Just hope you get one made on a Wednesday, as the saying goes.

Sorry, probably wasn't of much help.  

I know you say the connections are solid, but I'd still like to know how to made the connections, just to satisfy my curiosity if nothing else.

Any other testing you have done on your own?