Free Shipping on Everything.
60-Day Money-Back Guarantee | Lifetime Tech Support

40 year Dream ready for media unit !?!

Crutchfield.com

Crutchfield.com
What's new at our website, and the place for you to give us feedback

40 year Dream ready for media unit !?!

• I hope it is alright to start a new thread here, I'm a semi-retired Auto Parts Salesman / Body Shop Co owner / Racer who after 40 years of building other peoples stuff; I am finally building my own Dream Ride ! Since I've moved a few times and have been out of the loop a while I have no Idea what all is available for automotive media. Besides the fact that this was never my specialty any way, as most of the time I listen to AM talk radio or FM Country Music on low volume, but I do know what I want. First I'd like to have an in dash stereo system  with these amenities: at least 7" flip out screen, AM/FM radio/ FTA Digital Television and DVD player, back-up/rear view camera capabilities, USB and MP3 plugs in the front and volume and tuning knobs, as well as pre-set buttons that work with both radio bands and television band !!! I don't need giant speakers or subs or boosters, just a plain 100-400 watt radio with 2 or 4 Bose type speakers that work well for a pick-up cab.  Any help or suggestion on a unit like this with these amenities ?!?
  • What kind of vehicle?

I see six things that will be problems in order of magnitude:

• FTA (Free-To-Air) Digital TV.  I don't think tuners for this exist yet.  Analog tuners are no problem, but personally, I haven't heard of any digital ones for cars other than possible USB dongle ones.  The analog ones really don't work well in a moving vehicle outside the downtown city limits.
    • TV presets - I haven't seen this, most TV tuners have an auto-scan and memory or similar, but most do not have pre-set buttons.