Free Shipping on Everything.
60-Day Money-Back Guarantee | Lifetime Tech Support

Help wiring indoor and outdoor speakers from receiver, volume too low outside..

Home Audio

Home  Audio
Share thoughts on audio components, whole-house systems, cables, and speakers

Help wiring indoor and outdoor speakers from receiver, volume too low outside..

• Hey all,

Please bear with me as I am a complete novice. Here is my situation....

I just bought a pioneer vex-830-k receiver. This powers everything for my audio at home. My tv is hooked via optical line. PS3 via hdmi. In my living room I have two front speakers, center, two rears and a subwoofer. I just bought four cheap rock speakers for outside off amazon. I am not looking for crazy volume but id like to be able to hear the music outside over multiple conversations going on (aka a party). Here is how I have it wired....

Speaker A and B (Front) from the receiver wire going to the input of speaker selector box. Surround, Center, (soon to be sub) go directly to receiver.

On the speaker selector box....

Front A and B speakers go into one of the zones.

All outdoor speakers go into other zones.

My issue is the outdoor speakers are never loud enough. Do I need a separate AMP to power the outdoor ones as well? The wire run is about 50 feet per speaker, I used 16 gauge wire to do the runs. The speaker selector box does have impedance protection. Any help is appreciated and please bear with me

• I wasn't able to finds any info n a Pioneer "VEX" model but they do list a "VSX-830-K" model on their website. This model is rated to provide up to 80 watts on each of it's 5 channels. If you're running the main channels through a speaker selector, you're not only splitting that wattage up multiple times, you're severely limiting the ability of your front left & right speakers in your main theater system (as they are getting a fraction of the power that your center and surrounds are getting).