Yamaha Natural Sound HTR 5835 - Questions

Policies, Updates and News

Policies, Updates and News
What's going on in these forums and in the electronics industry

Yamaha Natural Sound HTR 5835 - Questions

• Hello Crutchfield community, this is my first time posting here. I'm hoping to get some good responses on this question. I have the system listed in my Subject above. I purchased it a few years ago @bestbuy. Anyway - I was recently at a bose store, figured I'd go into the demonstration and give it a try. This sounds so much better than I've ever experienced from myYamaha system. I have it hooked up to a new 42" LCD, upconverted DVD player, and Xbox360. Anyway, through my DVD player I have it connected with an HDMI cable (video only), unfortunately my receiver doesn't have HDMI, so I used an optical cable instead.

Basically, I'm looking for some help here, is this system just not that great? Is it outdated? Or do I just not have it hooked up correctly? Speakers in the wrong positions? I plan to get the problem fixed with somebodys help, if at all possible. If you need to ask questions to help understand better, please do. Thanks

-James

• Mope, I'm going out to dinner now but when I get back I'll offer some suggestions to remdy your situation. 

Currently working on my MBA program.  I hope to return sometime in December 2010. 

• What kind of speakers is the HTR hooked up to? 

What are you settings? 

Have you triede different settings for Neo:Cinema / DTS or any other?

I'm having a hard time finding too much information on the 5835 other than this:

• Brand Name: Yamaha
  • Model: 5835SL
  • Output Wattage: 720
  • component_type: Receiver
  • audio_output_mode: Surround Sound
  • Built In Decoder: Dolby Pro Logic, Dolby Pro Logic II, DTS Neo:6, DTS 96/24, Dolby Digital, DTS decoder
  • Remote Control Description: Universal remote control
  • Optical Digital Input: Yes
  • Coaxial Digital Input: Yes
  • Headphones Jack: Yes
  • Tuner Technology: Digital