Running Series and Parallel

• Thank you for taking the time to read this.  As a noob I'm sure I made a first time buyer's mistake.  I purchased 2 Kicker CompVR 10" 4 ohms DVC.  I also got a deal on a cheap 1000w x1 500w x2, 2/4 ohm bridgable amp (I know, you get what you pay for)  So I wired each sub @ 8 ohms then bridged together at the amp at 4 ohms.  I now know you get more power at 2 ohms than 4.

Is there anyway to get more power out of this?  Should I be running each sub @ 2 ohms into it's own channel at the amp?  Because if I run the whole set up as parallel, then I'd be running at 1 ohm, right.  Which I know that the cheap amp cannot take.  

Another thing, DVC is new to me, the sub is 4 ohm.  But the instructions give me the choice of Series or Parallel.  2 ohms one way and 8 the other.  So is there now way to run one sub at 4 ohms?  Am I stcuk w/ this?

Thank you.

[edited by: krony at 5:48 AM (GMT -5) on Wed, Mar 25 2009]
  • Actually, you did pretty well - I've seen some horror stories where people bought say one DVC-2-ohm sub and a mono amp that was the correct power at 2-ohms and had to run it at 4-ohms.

Your subs are 800W RMS combined, IMS.  The 2-channel amp cannot be bridged below 4-ohms, and the pair of subs can be either 4-ohms or 1-ohm.  The 1000Wx1 bridged at 4-ohms should be about perfect for the subs, but I suspect that is not RMS.

What is the amp model?

There is probably no way to get more power out of it.  Most two channel amps are something like 1000Wx1@4-ohms bridged, 500Wx2@2-ohms, 300Wx2@4-ohms.  You can run them stereo at two ohms, but you don't get more power and they don't hit at the same time.  You are better off like you are.

You are correct - there is no way to run a single DVC-4-ohm sub at 4-ohms.

It looks like the amp is the weak link and you will probably eventually want to upgrade that.  Something like the Profile AP2000 (960W RMS bridged at 4-ohms) of the Hifonics TXI-7510 (750Wx1@1-ohm) or similar would be good.